WPPI 2008-Part 2

Naturally, my trip to Las Vegas was not all work! I made some terrific friends while I was there and had a great time hanging out with them.

Amy Gaerthofner treated me to dinner at the Bellagio buffet–wow–I ate A LOT! Corey Ann Balazowich and Kelly Ward rounded out our group and we spent the evening talking about photography and a gazillion other subjects. On Sunday a bunch of contacts from Flickr met for brunch at the Cafe Lux in the Venetian. It was great to meet them in person!

wp-4.jpg
Kelly Lee, Amy, Melissa, Kelly Ward, Zach, Corey Ann, and Kate in front. (Samantha Nicole and Aubrey also joined us for brunch but were not there for the photo)

wp-5.jpg
Kelly L., Amy, Melissa, Kelly W., Corey Ann, Kate, and me.

During the week we made the rounds at several parties (Pixel2Canvas at The Palms, Photography Mentor at Mandalay Bay, and Blu Domain at The Parisian) but truthfully my favorite place was at Napoleon’s Lounge in the Paris hotel. I joined Corey Ann, Kelly, Kate McElwee, and Zach Goodyear at the lounge on several occasions to listen to the awesome guys on the dueling pianos. They rock! We danced and had a blast, and usually made new friends of the other folks hanging out at the lounge, too. Next time I’m bringing a small point and shoot camera so I can capture some of the fun without lugging around my enormous SLR!

wp-1.jpg

I had to take a picture of the ubiquitous slot machines. You can’t get anywhere without being routed through the middle! They are easy to resist; I just can’t bring myself to put hard-earned money in one.

wp-2.jpg

And finally, a snap of the stained glass ceiling at the Paris. Beautiful!

wp-3.jpg

This entry was posted in Fun. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to WPPI 2008-Part 2

  1. Kimberly Malanczuk says:

    They look like a great group of women! So happy you had such a good time. It sounds like it was an outstanding trip from every aspect. What did you learn about Flickr? I’ve seen the site and I’m curious about how it works. What did you learn from your new Flickr contacts?

  2. Kimberly Malanczuk says:

    By the way, you look as beautiful as ever! Are you sure you’re not getting younger?

  3. Ha! Definitely getting older!!!

    Flickr is a great place to learn from people. I stick to the forums for professionals so I can get that viewpoint, but there are forums for just about any type of photography you can imagine. People are so great about giving constructive and honest feedback…I’ve learned volumes in the few months I’ve been a member.

  4. Corey says:

    How the heck did I miss this until I googled myself???? These are such cute group shots of us! I want them for my album!! Can I bet a copy from you?!?

    I miss you! Are you going next year?!

  5. Parya says:

    – Looooove these Luis! I can’t believe this is a flash mob wednidg, or even that it’s in Las Vegas. You’ve captured it so beautifully and effortlessly that it really looks like you’ve captured the two of them in these gorgeous intimate moments. Love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

